Apple’s Latest Time Capsule Update Will Erase Your Backups

Please, don’t let this happen to you. Next time your Software Update tells you there are new updates to install, make sure you uncheck the update to Time Capsule. Otherwise, look what happens when Time Machine next runs:

See that second sentence in the second paragraph? Yeah. What kind of incompetent company quietly releases a software update to its backup product that deletes its customers’ backed up data without clear, repeated, and obvious warnings?

I want to punch Steve Jobs in the nuts.

(We now return you to your regularly scheduled Aaron-related awesomeness.)

Apple’s Latest Time Capsule Update Will Erase Your Backups

2 thoughts on “Apple’s Latest Time Capsule Update Will Erase Your Backups

    1. Chris,

      I’d argue that “remove your existing backup history” isn’t as clear as “will delete all of your backups” and that the second sentence of the second paragraph isn’t the place to put a warning if you want to make it obvious.

      The bigger problems are (1) that this update erases your backups in the first place, and (2) that once you’ve installed the update (like most people, I expect, I just installed all of the updates that Apple suggested without reading what all of them would do) there’s no way out except to say, yes, please, erase all of my backups, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s